Pinot Noir Ried Süßenberg Reserve 2018

elegant Burgundy with a delicate spicy note
Vintage2018
Wine qualityquality wine - Wachau
OriginRied Süßenberg
VarietyPinot Noir
Alcohol13,5%vol
Residual sugar1,1 g/l - dry
Acidity4,9 g/l
Aging potential10 years at least
Best served at15-17°C
Available bottle sizes0,75L

Origin and Terroir

The grapes for this Pinot Noir originate from the single vineyard Süßenberg in the east end of the Wachau valley. Here the typical character of the Pinot Noir has the potential to develop due to the many hours of sun and the soil, comprised mainly of weathered rock.

Vinification

For this Pinot Noir the grapes were selectively harvested. In the cellar, the grape material was destemmed and subjected to a classic maceration. After some time, the fermented wine could be pressed. The malolactic fermentation was completed in temperature controlled stainless steel tanks. The young red wine was then filled into 225L and 300L oak casks (2/3 used and 1/3 new wood), there it was allowed to mature for 12 months before being bottled.

Tasting notes

Ruby and garnet colors in the glass, beautiful scents of berries and fine spices develop in the nose, nice barrique tones, very elegant and substantial on the palate; a wine with a good aging potential.

Drink and Meal Recommendation

This wine is well suited to pair it with hearty dishes. It is also a fantastic red wine to enjoy by the glass without any food pairing.

Contains Sulfites

Pinot Noir Ried Süßenberg Wachau Reserve

eleganter Burgunder mit feinwürziger Note
  • 90 Punkte Falstaff
Jahrgang2018
QualitätsstufeQualitätswein - Wachau
HerkunftRied Süßenberg
RebsortePinot
Alkohol13,5 %vol
Restzucker1,1 g/l – trocken
Säure4,9 g/l
Reifepotentialmind. 10 Jahre
Trinktemperatur15-17°C
Verfügbare Flaschengrößen0,75L

Herkunft und Terroir

Die Trauben stammen aus unseren Weingärten in der östlichen Wachau. Die Böden dieser Weingärten sind geprägt von reichen Lössböden mit steinigem Untergrund. Diese Kombination ergibt sehr fruchtige Weine mit einer mineralischen Komponente. Das Klima wird von den Ausläufern des pannonischen Klimas kombiniert mit den kalten, nächtlichen Luftströmen aus dem nördlichen Waldviertel beeinflusst.

Vinifizierung

Die Trauben wurden selektiv verlesen, im Keller gerebelt und einer klassichen Maischegärung unterzogen. Nach einigen Tagen konnte der vergorene Wein abgepresst werden. Der biologische Säureabbau erfolgte kontrolliert im Stahltank. Der junge Rotwein wurde danach zur Gänze in 225L und 300L Holzfässer gefüllt (2/3 gebrauchtes und 1/3 neues Holz). Er durfte 12 Monate in diesen Fässern reifen bevor er in die Flasche gefüllt wurde.

Verkostungsnotizen

Strahlendes Rubinrot, in der Nase sehr fein und elegant mit einer würzigen Note, am Gaumen öffnet sich eine finessenreiche Aromatik mit Himbeernoten; die samtigen Tannine geben diesem Wein den letzten Schliff

Enthält Sulfite